Lady S.O.V.

at the Lady SOV show last night at Bowery Ballroom.

I love this chick. She has an insane amount of energy. She looks like a little kid onstage and never, ever lets up the pace or the intensity. She also seems to be incredibly pissed off all time, spits her lyrics she’s on some multiple of 78 when everyone else is on 45, and acts like a brat.

To be all reviewer-y, “this 20-year-old singer emerged from East London’s so-called grime scene, which combined hip-hop with a number of other urban pop musics.” okay, sure. What I first liked about her is that crazy-chick “f*ck you” energy plus very funny wordplay. Both on view last night. She acted out, hurled water, beer, and insults at the audience, pointed out that her logo was essentially fisting her drummer, and hauled a small bald man up on stage then told folks to get him the hell off her stage.

Excoriating the NYC crowd for its lameness, she finally called for a weeny sort of mosh pit, and the clueless hordes obliged, tho’ only about three dudes really seemed to have any idea of what the ol’ ultraviolence might involve. i.e. they actually hurled one another to the floor. More geekish flailing around than anything else, tho’.

Lady S.O.V. did a great rendition of “Hoodie” my favorite musically, and “Love Me or Hate Me,” plus a very nice “Random” and semi-okay “Tango” (which I knew as “Orange” – about fake tans – and btw her version at SummerStage this past Aug was much better), plus a way fun cover of the immortal “Pretty Vacant” (the punk nihilist anthem as opposed to the stoner nihilist anthem of “Baba O’Reilly” [aka Teenage Wasteland] or the grunge nihilist anthems of Nirvana.)

Anyway, she did a great job of it. she definitely has that punk edge.

Only quibble with the show was her energy got kind of unfocused and all over the place in the middle and too bratty for her own good, but she’s nuts so what did I expect? It’s why I like live shows anyway. A bit of anarchy and grime on the Bowery made a fine Monday night out.

“Pretty Vacant” and “Love Me or Hate Me” are on her myspace page. Oh yeah, she’s really, really short, too.

9:34 PM – 3 Comments – 2 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

I Got My Reasons

Yeah her show ROCKED… she’s crazy and tiny “a little bit of HUSH for the MIDGET.” I liked when she sang “Amer-I-CA” and the crowd yelled “FUCK YEAH” with no prompting. I got my Lady Sove-RING on and my stickers to post in my hood. WOO HOO i’m 12 again…

Posted by I Got My Reasons on Tuesday, October 31, 2006 at 10:49 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Ellen

follow-up on the bald dude who hauled up on stage and then got thrown off by Lady SOV – so my hubby Mark is at a CMJ showcase show the following night at the Knitting Factory – and who is there behind him but the bald guy!

So Mark says, “Hey, I saw you at Lady SOV last night!” and the guy starts blubbering, “Oh my god I didn’t do anything stupid, did I? I was really really drunk! oh my god was I really stupid?!?” Mark was kind. he said, “yeah, you got on stage w/her, man!” but no more.

So he had his moment w/the S.O.V. . . . and didn’t remember it at all. O, you pinhead. The sorrows of gin indeed.

Posted by Ellen on Thursday, November 02, 2006 at 6:11 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Monica

  HAHA INDEED! Luv that story

Posted by Monica on Sunday, November 05, 2006 at 2:56 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Leave a comment