a moment of sovereign

Cha-Ching indeed!
spotted in Brooklyn, Atlantic Ave. 4/5 train, 10pm Sat.

a bit closer – nice typeface!

Currently listening :
9 to 5
By Lady Sovereign
Release date: By 06 September, 2005

1:05 AM – 3 Comments – 0 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

I Got My Reasons

most excellent… when I saw this bank (with it’s shitty, I’m a Hong Kong import graphics) this was my first thought. Maybe a free SOV Cd with a money market account?

Posted by I Got My Reasons on Saturday, November 18, 2006 at 2:27 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

I Got My Reasons

America’s Neighborhood Bank? HA!!! I haven’t researched this at all but I’m gonna guess this is a Chinese import. That explains the graphics and the feeble attempt to sound authentically American.

Posted by I Got My Reasons on Saturday, November 18, 2006 at 2:29 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Ellen

bizarrely enough, the cheesy graphics are courtesy of . . . Philadelphia, USA!

Checked it out – its a Philly-based bank, now America’s 18th largest. been buying up local banks in midatlantic and northeast. In order to buy the latest, Independence Community Bank of Brooklyn, Sovereign sold 25% of its stock to Grupo Santander, Spain’s largest private bank – which owns all kinds of stuff in Europe and Latin America. (per Amnesy International, Santander is not particularly evil one way or the other)

but we may not have (Lady) Sovereign Bank around to street-modify much longer.

Its CEO resigned on 10 October 2006, and Grupo Santander will prob buy out rest of 75% and rename the whole thing, per Wikipedia.

So get out those giant Sharpies while you can – everytime I walk by one of these signs on a bus shelter or in a subway, I’ve been itching to add a great big “Lady”!

Posted by Ellen on Saturday, November 18, 2006 at 11:45 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Leave a Reply

