The National @ South Street Seaport, NYC, 8/17/07

ndie pop. Very tasty. Free at the South Street Seaport on Fridays this summer.

The National’s Boxer is an album one’s gotta like. Or at least enjoy. Or not hate. Craftsmanship, good melodies, heartfelt lyrics, strong guitars: I can’t quite be wild about them, but I wasn’t gonna miss a chance to see them, esp for free, esp after they sold out the Bowery Ballroom in NYC for five nights in a row.

And they delivered an excellent show; more than I expected.

They did mainly stuff from Boxer

Some stuff from Alligator

I could not tell if they did this one or not, but if so, I somehow missed hearing this excellent lyric from “Karen”:
“It’s a common fetish for a doting man
to ballerina on the coffee table cock in hand”

damn.

and my personal NYC sidelight.

Here is the lovely new york-based DJ known as Delphine Blue, who I’ve heard around town for years – literally, since the days she spun at Danceteria and the Ritz.

Then at WBAI and WFUV. And lately at the late lamented ps1.org internet station. And now on my local fave eastvillageradio.com, formerly pimped on this blog.

Anyway, I finally got to meet her and chat and found out we know some peeps in common. NY is a village after all. However, South Street Seaport is an entirely foreign thing that has been grafted onto NYC like one of those globular unnaturally-colored Frankenstein cactus things. It has no New York in it.

Bleh. However, Friday, August 31, the very hot Battles is playing there. So I know where I’ll be. . . .

One thought on “The National @ South Street Seaport, NYC, 8/17/07

  1. Pingback: I Found Delphine Blue! « Rough In Here, Rougher Out There

Leave a Reply

